The Addiction

It all started with a teeny, tiny glass. Only 30 ml, so it went down real fast

Tasted so nasty at the time; but the salt made it better, and so did the lime

The second time, it was whisky that I drank, and god, that thing really stank

The third’s a blur, the fourth too. I really don’t remember, I swear it’s true.

Anyway, how does it matter? For Nyx the Shy had finally learnt to chatter!

With a drink in my hand, and a high in my head, I was always free of all dread

Oh Nyx, you’re such a soak, they’d giggle, as I reached for a third rum & coke

What did I care, as long as I was the life of the party everywhere?

So what if sometimes the lights bled, and I could only see red?

So what if I slurred a bit, and in the morning, felt like shit?

Oh Nyx, you’re such a soak, they now smirked

When I reached for my sixth rum & coke

I never realised, I was so hooked

I was well and truly soaked

I knew I had to get out

before I drowned

Soak no more

Soak no

more

I think to myself

But then my hands automatically reach

For yet another cocktail, this time a ‘Sex on the Beach’.

Written for the Indiblogger ‘Soak No More’ contest.

One response to “The Addiction

Leave a comment